Weekly Weigh-In 8

Weekly Weigh In 8

I have been completely obsessed with the scales this week, I’m talking weighing myself at least once a day. Not really sure what I excepted to change weighing myself the second time but there you go!

The reason for this, is that I’ve been doing better (in my opinion) with eating and exercise so I was hoping to see a lb drop off during the week, which didn’t happen. I finally dropped below the 13st mark to 12st 13lb yesterday and so was happy! I felt like getting past the stone mark is always a big hurdle for me. I don’t know why, but I seem to lose motivation or struggle at that point every time is a significant point e.g. half a stone loss in total, dropping below the half stone point. Basically anything that can be used as a marker for how well I’m doing.

So what have I done this week that made me so convinced I’d drop weight quicker? Well first of all, I reduced my calorie intake down to 1600 from 1800, which I stuck to really well with the exception of Wednesday when I went out for dinner (I didn’t resist the lasagne, but I resisted the extra side of sweet potato fries!) and Friday when I got disheartened that the scales weren’t changing and ate too much chocolate.

As for exercise, I’ve got out for a walk every lunch time for 20-30 mins, which is about 100 calories burned according to MyFitnessPal. I’ve also done some 20-30mins of yoga 3 nights of the week. I was really shocked at how intense some yoga workouts can be! I really struggled with the 30 day challenge I was trying to do, so now I think I’m going to try a beginners workout to start off with! That way I can learn the moves and get to grips with the basics.

Starting Weight: 13st 5lb
Today’s Weight: 13st
Lost This Week: 0lb Total
Weight Loss: 5lb

When I weighed myself this morning I was incredibly disappointed to see that the scales had crept back up again. I even weighed myself in lbs to get a more accurate reading and it said I weigh 12st 13.6lbs, which obviously rounds up. After the positive figure on the scales yesterday, I did treat myself to a pastry in town, but still stuck to my calorie goal and did at least an hours walking to and around town, probably more but I only logged 1 hour into my calorie counter. So why have the scales gone up? I’m guessing that I must have been something like 0.4 yesterday so it hasn’t taken much to go up. But my only explanation really is that this is now the lead up to shark week, when I tend to bloat, so that could be why. Still disappointing nonetheless.

I’ve also been thinking about rewarding myself for achieving targets as extra motivation. Does anyone else do this? I think its a pretty good idea as I’m cutting back on my spending for the next few months. Here’s what I’ve come up with:
1 stone – Mac lipstick
2 stone – geisha screen print
Target weight – BM Jurassic Art skirt

I feel like its all such a long way away though, as at present I’ve lost 5lb in 8weeks. Now I don’t want to crash diet and then pile it all back on again, but assuming I lose weight at the same rate its going to be about 10 more weeks until I lose a stone, which is when I’m in Amsterdam! Ideally, I’d like to lose more than that, so guess I need to step up my exercise again. Plus having cut down my calories should help too!

What do you do to reward yourself for losing weight? How often to do treat yourself to that reward?

Rachael

Instagram   |   Twitter   |   Bloglovin

P.S. Don’t forget to enter my giveaway – ends Wednesday! You can enter via WordPress & Instagram.

9 responses to “Weekly Weigh-In 8

  1. Brill post Rachael!!! Well done on doing so well – I think your idea of a target treat is fantastic :) Go girl!!!!! Karen xo

    Like

  2. Weighing yourself too often isn’t healthy, give yourself a break. Internal body fat is more damaging and regular scales can’t pick that up – really slim people can carry a lot of hidden fat and larger people less so.

    It’s 80% nutrition and 20% exercise if you’re really committed – not so much how many calories you eat but what you’re eating. Carbs don’t help your body burn fat but lean protein, fruit and veg do. I’ve been learning lots about nutrition in my own quest to reclaim my body from years of benign neglect.

    I wish you luck. Xx

    Like

  3. The last few weeks I’ve been trying to lose weight as well and I did the same thing last week with getting just below the next stone, and then putting a couple of pounds on again, and I haven’t lost it again yet! It’s really frustrating! I’m also one for weighing myself almost daily. I don’t think it’s very healthy to do that, but sometimes I can’t help it. But you’re doing well! Keep going and good luck! Xx

    Like

    • Thanks Claire! Yeah I try to only weigh myself once a week but want to break through the hurdle so badly I’ve been weighing Too often. I know it doesn’t just disappear overnight!x

      Like

Leave a Reply

