Pay Day Haulin’

PayDayHaul

I have to confess, this being my first proper full time pay cheque in well over a year, I did get a tad carried away. (The triple points offer at Boots didn’t help!) But at the same time, I stocked up on some essentials and definitely deserved a few treats. After all, I have been working hard!
Boots

First up, and where I always do the most damage, is Boots. They were having a triple points offer, but you had to spend £30 to get them. By the time I got some hayfever tablets, I was well on the way to reaching that so I went for it.

IMG_3099

Once again, the raspberry scent of Soap and Glory’s Glad Hair Day Shampoo persuaded me to put a tube in my basket. The 3 for 2 offer prompted me to get the matching conditioner, which I have had before although not for years. I had a look through the rest of their range and decided that a second bottle of shampoo would be my best choice of free item. These are £5.50 each which is really good for a sulphate free shampoo, most are usually about £10, so you can see why I stocked up!

The next item will come as no surprise to any long term readers – yes I bought another bottle of the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water! It was 1/3 off at £3.33, and although I’m probably a few months off needing another bottle of micellar water I wanted to make sure I had a spare in my stash.

Aussie Dry Shampoo is my overall favourite, but I find my fringe can get greasier than the rest of my hair from running my fingers through it too much. This then needs something a little bit more heavy duty, which is where the Batiste comes in. I’m almost out of my current one and decided to get a different scent than usual, this one is the Oriental one and has the most beautiful packaging.

IMG_3100IMG_3101

The last thing I got in Boots is the wonderful deep grape nail varnish from Revlon. It’s from their new Colorstay Gel Envy range in the colour Hold ‘Em (£6.99). I love everything about it – the name, the shade, the shine and most of all, how different it is. I went round the whole of Boots and Superdrug and couldn’t find anything close to this. I like how it’s muted tone makes it seem almost too dark for spring and too bright for summer. I know lilac is really popular at the moment, but I’m more of a  jewel-toned person, so for me this a perfect colour.

Superdrug

IMG_3098

As I was shopping on bank holiday monday, the day before the incredible 3 for 2 across makeup deal ended, I couldn’t resist getting a few things. I didn’t want to spend a lot having just done so much damage in Boots, so was nosing through the cheap brands that I’ve heard so much about but haven’t tried. Seriously, I never go to Superdrug, so I have been missing out on trying a lot of things.

IMG_3107

The first thing I settled on was the Makeup Revolution Mono Eyeshadow in Finally… which is the warm nude on the bottom. It’s the kind of shade I wear a lot and I definitely have something similar, but as this was £1 I figured it was a good bet to see if the eyeshadows live up to their reputation. Whilst looking at the stand, the purple Good Life caught my eye and I thought I might as well grab it, as its different for me.

Having found two products so cheap, I decided to try and find something worth £1-2 for the third item. I was debating getting a MUA blush I really didn’t need, when I saw their nail varnishes are only £1. They’re quite small, but for the price you really can’t complain. I got an aqua blue shade called Leapfrog, that I thought was lovely and bright for spring/summer.

Primark

IMG_3104

Another Primark purchase? So unlike me. I got these trousers on sale for £3 and thought they’d be good for work. They’re lightweight and soft so should be very comfortable, but they’re still quite formal looking. I only had the one pair of work trousers… Okay, okay, black skinnies, so I thought I’d better grab these!

New Look

IMG_3109

My last stop was to collect my online order from New Look. They had a 20% student discount on and I had had my eye on a pair of shoes for a month now, so what better time to get them? I mean, just look at the Criss Cross Caged Ankle Boots (£24.99), how could I not? They’re technically boots, but the cutouts make them almost sandals. Because they’ve got an enclosed toe I can wear socks or tights with them, making them more versatile. They look great with skirts, jeans and leggings, so I’m really pleased with them.

IMG_3103

In order to get free delivery, I had to spend a penny more, so found a nice shirt I could wear to work. I have a lot of clothes, but do feel a bit underdressed at work at times, so for £6ish (with the discount, £7.99 full price) a nice White V Neck Shirt seemed like a very good choice.

That’s everything I’ve bought lately – with the exception of some leggings in the Blackmilk sale! Hurry up mr postie!

Have you been shopping lately? What are you dying to get your hands on?

Rachael

Instagram   |   Twitter   |   Bloglovin

2 responses to “Pay Day Haulin’

  1. Pingback: Forever Haulin’ ft. Lush, Black Milk Clothing, Superdrug & More! | rachwat

  2. Pingback: Makeup Revolution Brand First Impressions & FOTD | rachwat

Leave a Reply

