Creating That Home-y Feeling

HomeFeeling

I thought I’d talk about something a bit different today. Over the past four years, I have moved at least once a year. First into halls in Cardiff, then into a 6 bed house for my second year of university, followed by a 3 bed flat for my final year. Then I moved back to my parents into a room my mum had decorated for me, but never really felt like mine and then back into what had always been my bedroom when my brother went off to uni and, most recently, into a 2 bed house in Reading. Through out all this, I have gained a pretty good idea of how to make what is usually a pretty plain space into somewhere that feels like it belongs to me and gives that lovely comforting feeling of being home. Here’s a few images of my new place and some thoughts on what I think make a place home.

IMG_2747

In my opinion, there’s a distinct difference between putting your things in a place and decorating it. There might only be a small difference when you can’t paint the walls, change the carpet or even the curtains, but once I’ve done a bit of decoration a room suddenly feels much more like my own space.

The simplest of ways to do this, is to put up some pictures. This past weekend, my parents came to visit and brought my small collection of Skull & Heart prints down and helped me hang them. This has really transformed my plain walls and helped to put some personality and colour into the space. I’d definitely missed having them around. I also have several photo frames through out the room. I take a lot of photos and have been lucky enough to go to some great places and having these around really brightens my mood.

Other items I have on display around my room include my POP! Vinyls I picked up at Comic Con and some little figurines I got in Tokyo. I love the memories associated with these, as well as the cute characters.

IMG_2748

Some more girly items include this amazing green vase, well carafe technically, which I got for £3.99 in TK Maxx just before I left Cardiff. This bright green is my absolute favourite colour and I love how it looks both with and without flowers in. I have currently got a bunch of daffodils in there, which are slightly too short for it really, but hey, they were only £1! I really like having flowers around, I think they give that finishing touch to a room. There’s just something so pretty and vibrant about them and it’s starting to feel like spring, making flowers a must. I’m so looking forward to them opening up.

Candles, and by association candle holders, are a bit of an obsession of mine. I have a fairly big box filled with candles but couldn’t resist grabbing these two the other day. They’re from the Yankee Candle Simply Home range, which I think is only available in supermarkets. They have all the quality of normal Yankee Candles, but are a bit cheaper. Plus these were on sale for £1 in Asda and are in some unusual scents I hadn’t seen before. I picked up a watermelon and a peach scented one, as I love fruity fragrances. The candle holder shown is from Party Lite, which is a bit like Avon in that you have to order through a rep or at a party.

IMG_2750

Some of the best things to make a room feel more cosy is the right bedding. I have two sets, but my favourite is this which has trees silhouetted in white against a grey gradient background. Add to that a black fleece blanket for snuggling up in, some cushion collected over the past few years and a couple of teddies just for good measure and I have a comfy, warm bed in which to sit and watch tv, read a book or curl up and sleep in. Bliss.

IMG_2751

As a moving present, my mum got me this beautiful new fleece blanket in Tesco, which features a grey damask print (matching my candle holder!) on a white background. Although I haven’t actually used this yet, this was a really thoughtful gift and having this around with definitely make the space feel more like home.

Finally, I’d just like to add that the one time I got to pick out colours and decorate a room properly for myself was the most at home I have ever felt. When my brother took my room whilst I was at uni, he decorated it all in various shades of clashing blue. My dad complained about how dark it was all the time so was quite happy to let me do something to it. As the carpet was only a couple of years old a quite a deep blue, I felt a bit limited in my options, but was really happy with how it looked. I chose to paint it all white with a silver feature wall opposite the window. I then put in silver curtains, picked out a black damask light shade and got the bedding set shown in these photos. Although I don’t have any pictures of that room, my point is that if you can get permission to decorate somewhere, even just adding a subtle feature wall really makes the place your own as you have made your mark on it.

Here’s a couple more pictures of my other Skull & Heart prints in my new room. I just love how affordable and high quality these prints are. Each print is from a different artist whose work I wouldn’t be able to afford otherwise. I’ve currently got my eye on another one from the Paradise series to go alongside the print shown earlier in the post.

IMG_2758 IMG_2759

How do you make a space your own? Anything you do differently? I’d love to know, as I’m still settling in to my new place and am keen to make it feel like home as soon as possible!

 

P.S. Do you know of any bloggers in Reading, UK? I’d love to get to know some people in my new town!

6 responses to “Creating That Home-y Feeling

  1. Those prints are so awesome! I’ve been redecorating my room for the past few months too, it’s so much fun :) Jay x

    Like

  2. Hello lovely! I have nominated you for The Beautiful Blogger Award here: http://theglasgowgirl.com/2015/03/25/the-beautiful-blogger-award/ – No pressure to respond but just wanted to let you know that I love you and your blog!

    Hayley | http://www.theglasgowgirl.com

    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

