Liz Earle Botanical Shine Shampoo Review

Liz Earle Shampoo

Sticking with my previous post’s rather overwhelming hair care theme, I thought I would review the current sulphate free shampoo that I have been using. It is, of course, the much loved and reviewed Liz Earle Botanical Shine Shampoo, which is £10 for 200ml and definitely the most I have spent on one shampoo.

The unusual thing about the Liz Earle shampoo range is that this is it! Just the one shampoo and a conditioner, which wasn’t available at the time. I think it takes a lot of confidence in your product to only sell one product for all hair types, but it is because it is made from natural ingredients, which are great for your hair. That doesn’t mean that there aren’t people out there who wouldn’t like this product, but from what I’ve seen of online reviews, they are few and far between.

IMG_2308

As you would expect, this contains lots of lovely ingredients like Vitamin E, Shea Butter and smells delightfully of orange blossom! The cleansing ingredient in this is Sodium Lauroyl Methyl Isethionate. Now I had no idea what this was and was skeptical about buying the shampoo as I have previously bought something I thought was SLS free, but was in fact not and just a slightly different variant of it. I therefore explained my hesitation to the incredibly helpful member of staff at the counter in my local John Lewis store, who pulled out a product bible which explains what each ingredient is and where they source it from. I then found out that it is a natural cleanser made from coconut oil.

Being a sulphate free shampoo, this doesn’t lather as much as a SLS shampoo, but a little does go a long way. Even with my thick hair, this 200ml bottle has lasted me a month and a half – 2 weeks longer than the Schwarzkopf shampoo I tried before did! It does a really good job of cleansing my hair, leaving it clean for that all important extra day that I have come to expect from a SLS-free shampoo. It also so gentle that I haven’t noticed any significant colour loss between washes.

Overall, this is a really good shampoo which I have found is reasonably good value for money for a SLS-free shampoo. I would repurchase this, but I recently bought two new shampoos to try, so won’t be for a while. Thankfully, Boots have recently started stocking Liz Earle products, although only on their website at the moment. While this is great for people like me who are a touch too attached to their Boots points, I cannot wait for it to be more widely available within their stores and hopefully part of more of their deals.

If you ever want to check out the ingredients in your products, check out this Ingredient Glossary! It’s so helpful! I keep the tab open on my phone to double check every shampoo I buy.

Have you tried the Liz Earle shampoo or gone sulphate free?

 

13 responses to “Liz Earle Botanical Shine Shampoo Review

  1. I used to use this shampoo a few years back and loved it but unfortunately couldn’t keep it up because of the price. Great shampoo though! Jay x

    Like

  2. I’m using The Body Shop Rainforest Shine Shampoo at the moment. The happy medium between price and quality I think :) X

    Like

  3. My old local boots sold Liz Earle already – think they have for 2 years now, but it’s the only one I’ve ever seen it in! Good though as atleast you can pick up boots points at the same time! X

    Like

  4. Ah I’m glad you liked it! I’m not sure if I can live without it now :/
    Love that I can get boots points with it now too!
    That ingredient list is so helpful too, I need to save that somewhere! X

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Empties 6 | rachwat

Leave a Reply

