Changes

b94f5d6ed1b41d815993ae2acf219930.590x463x1

It’s funny how everything happens at once! After months and months of feeling like I wasn’t getting anywhere, I have been offered not one, but TWO graduate jobs in graphic design! The second, which I was offered yesterday, is a permanent position and is doing the kind of design work I enjoy most, so I have happily accepted the job.

So what does this mean for the blog?

Well unfortunately, I probably won’t be able to keep up my every other day posting schedule I was doing so well at in January. There’s a couple of reasons for this, but the main one is that I need to move. ASAP. This will also be the first time I’ll have a full time job since starting the blog, so that’s going to take some adjustment! Hopefully, I’ll be all settled into my routine by the end of March.

I start my new job the second week of March and am away the week before that, so I’ve gotta start flat hunting and packing up. It’s too far away for me to drive everyday, especially when the motorways clog up. (As they did when I went for my interview, 3 hours of driving turned into 5! Ugh.)

I am over the moon to be starting my career in such a great company and I’m currently excited about moving. However, I went to Reading for the first time yesterday, extremely briefly, and know absolute no-one there which is a bit daunting. If I can’t find somewhere before I go away, I’ll have to stay in a B&B or something for a while whilst I get settled.

Over the next few weeks, I’m going to head down there for a couple of days to get to know the place and find some nice areas to house hunt and then I’m sure I’ll be back a few more times to look at some places too.

Here’s to the future!

 

8 responses to “Changes

  1. Huge congratulations Rach – this is amazing news!!! I’m sure you’ll find your feet when you get there like you say :) Karen XXXX

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! well done you! Congratulations round 2! Moving is daunting I did it for my first job, but if you love what you do for the majority of the week it’s worth it! X

    Like

    • Thanks! Yeah I did it for uni, but then everyone is in the same boat and looking to make friends, going to be a bit different this time!x

      Like

      • Yes I did the same, I found moving for work easier and harder at the same time, moved with my boyfriend but we felt isolated being far away from friends and family, I didn’t learn until it was too late that letting my guard down and making friends with coworkers was what I should have done which in turn lead to meeting new people and more new people on top of that! That’s my tip!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m moving completely by myself. People keep assuming I’m going to get a studio flat to rent, but I’m going to look for a room in a small shared house so that I can meet some people that way. I’m going to be one of five in my department at work so I’m sure I’ll get to know them fairly quickly. I’ll look at signing up to a dance class too, as I miss doing ballet and hopefully make a friend or two there as well. That’s the plan anyway!x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

