Schwarzkopf Bonacure Sulfate Free Shampoo Review

Scwarzkopf

I’ve decided it’s time to formally introduce you all to the shampoo I have been using for the past four weeks or so. From my previous shampoo review post, you may be aware that I was having some trouble finding a sulphate free shampoo that actually did everything I wanted it to. Well, I think I’ve found the answer! Enter Schwarzkopf Bonacure Color Freeze Sulfate-Free Shampoo.

IMG_2228
I ordered this 250ml bottle off Amazon just before Christmas for £6.90, not exactly cheap, but not unaffordable either. However, there isn’t a cheap sulphate free shampoo option, so you need to be aware of that if you’re thinking of switching. This isn’t a product you will find in your local shops, I’ve only ever found it online more by accident than anything else.

You can get the 250ml bottle slightly cheaper at £5.95 from Allbeauty.com, but I opted for Amazon as I could get free prime delivery and was desperate for it to arrive before the Christmas break. But you can get some larger bottles at great prices! A 500ml bottle is £7.50 from Allbeauty.com and a massive 1250ml bottle is only £13.50 on Amazon! It’s available in such large quantities as it’s designed as a professional hair care product for use in salons.

IMG_2229

So onto the product itself. I could barely contain my excitement about this after just one use, but based on past experience I decided I’d better give it a longer  trial period before reviewing. I’ve now used almost all of the bottle and have a solid opinion on this.

Here’s a list of things I think a sulphate free shampoo should do:

  • Cleanse my hair
  • Maintain my colour
  • Leave my hair soft and shiny
  • Reduce hair fall out
  • Give an extra day between washes

And guess what? This shampoo does all that! It lathers pretty well considering it’s a sulphate free product, the amount of colour going down the drain is definitely reduced compared to the Naked shampoo I reviewed last time and I now have less hair loss than I ever used to, which is a huge relief after the Body Shop shampoo! I think that’s partly because my hair seems a lot healthier since I’ve been using the Schwarzkopf shampoo, so it’s breaking less. My hair has been staying soft and shiny, growing well and my colour is lasting longer, so I’m pretty pleased! Since switching to sulphate free shampoo, I have found I can go an extra day between washes, which is still true with this particular shampoo. Oh and this one doesn’t make my hair smell like herbs either – its actually quite pleasant.

My only minor complaint is the packaging. I actually like it, but they do a normal version of this, which contains sulphate and it looks identical! I originally ordered the wrong one through allbeauty because of it. So if you’re going to buy this, double check the description before you buy!

For anyone interested, you can find the full list of ingredients here.

All in all, I am very pleased with this shampoo. I’m still curious about whether or not there is a better sulphate free shampoo out there, but for now I think this is the best value one on the market that actually works! Schwarzkopf have become a firm favourite hair care brand of mine in recent months and I cannot recommend them enough. I’ve actually bought some of their other hair care products which you can see in a beauty haul in two days time!

Have you gone sulphate free? What shampoo are you currently using?

 

11 responses to “Schwarzkopf Bonacure Sulfate Free Shampoo Review

  1. I have a soft spot for Schwarzkopf products – they’re always reasonably affordable and usually good quality too :)

    Like

  2. Great find! I keep meaning to check the sulphates in my shampoos I buy but I always forget! I get too excited about 3 for 2s! I’ve found Keratin products have help my hair stop falling out so much, so maybe paired with this it will be an amazing duo!

    Like

  3. I think ill give this a go, my hair is still recovering from body shops shock!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great review Rach!! Haven’t tried it yet but will be sure to check the packaging before I do – bit of a branding failure!!! Karen x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Liz Earle Botanical Shine Shampoo Review | rachwat

Leave a Reply

