Lush Sakura Bath Bomb Review

Sakura

I bought this Sakura Bath Bomb from Lush not too long after Christmas, you can see the haul post here. The thing I was most drawn to about it was the scent, as it took me back to my time in Tokyo last February.

IMG_2113

I used this in a bath this evening and really liked it, but unfortunately my skin didn’t. I was in the bath for about an hour, when the skin on my arms and legs started to feel very sore and itchy. I quickly got out and rinsed off and put some fragrance free moisturiser on, but my skin was really irritated by something in this bath bomb.

IMG_2182

This is a picture of the inside of my elbow, where I have been suffering from eczema lately. This is much larger, redder and drier than it has been for the past few weeks, because of using the Sakura Bath Bomb. I read in the bath, so I don’t even have my arms in the water much. I don’t have a before picture or anything for you to compare, but I’d almost got it under control before this. I had a patch of dry skin about the size of a 10p coin (you can see the driest patch, that’s all it was) and it wasn’t really red at all, let alone all the other red marks that have appeared around it.

Because of how much this has come up, I wanted to make this quick unscheduled post just to let anyone who has a dry skin condition aware that this may not be the best Lush product for you. Unfortunately, I won’t be repurchasing this one, but it hasn’t put me off Lush products. I have used several different bath products from Lush over the past few months, including bubble bars, bath melts and bath bombs and this is the first which I have had a reaction to. If you have dry skin too, I’d instead recommend something like the Butterball Bath Bomb which has cocoa butter in to help relieve dry skin.

Do you have sensitive skin? Have you reacted to any Lush products? Let me know!

P.S. on a more positive note, I reached 200 followers on my blog today! A big, big thank you to all my readers, I love seeing your likes and comments.

37 responses to “Lush Sakura Bath Bomb Review

  1. Thats such a shame! I suffer from eczema so I feel your pain, thank fully I’ve never had a reaction to any of their products. I think Sakura is the most disappointing bath bomb I’ve used from LUSH! Didn’t really do much and the smell didn’t linger very long whilst even in the bath.
    Congrats on your 200 followers too! :D

    Like

    • I could still smell it when I got out, but it definitely didn’t pack as much of a punch as you get with some of their other products. However this is a delicate scent so I wouldn’t want it to be too strong either. I have to say I did expect a stronger colour to the water though!
      Thanks Becks! x

      Like

      • True, I think i’d just been lusting after the scent for so long when I finally got it I was so disappointed!
        x

        Like

      • I know what you mean! How did you find the Christmas Penguin? I still haven’t used mine!x

        Liked by 1 person

      • I loved it! I wish I’d bought so many more.
        It was one of those in the shop that I wasn’t that fussed about, but when I had it at home and could actually smell it without the smells of everything else its just so beautiful! It makes gorgeous pale blue water and its so so soft! One of my favourites so far and I hope they bring it back next year. I used the bottom half of mine so I still have his little cone head for another bath! :P x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha I always make such a mess breaking up my bubble bars! But you definitely don’t need them all for one bath, so its worth breaking them up. I kept meaning to buy him and just didn’t get round to it until the Boxing Day sale, then I forgot about the stuff I bought that day as I have so many others part used in my bathroom cupboard from where I was attempting to try all the limited edition ones! Still tempted to go get some of the Valentine’s edition stuff though. I’ve got my eye on the Heart Throb bubble bar! x

        Like

      • Hahah I know what you mean. I’ve got loads of christmas stuff I want to use because I don’t want it to go ‘bad’. But at the same time I want the Valentines stuff! haha. Yeah the unicorn horn looks so cute too! :Px

        Like

      • I’ve still got a sparkly pumpkin – let alone the christmas stuff! Haha, yes the unicorn horn too! And the bath melt… x

        Like

      • So have I! haha, can’t bring myself to use it! Thought its my birthday next week, so maybe i’ll use it then.
        Hahah, yep basically everything.. :P x

        Like

      • It’s my absolute favourite Lush product so far, gutted it was only around for a month! Definitely keeping mine for a special occasion, so I think your birthday is a perfect time to use yours!
        Yes definitely need to go and smell everything at least… And then leave the store with half of it unless I’m very good haha x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha i’m using my birthday as an excuse for everything lately! Of course i’ll have to treat myself to the valentines lush stuff…its almost my birthday! haha. x

        Like

      • Sounds Perfectly reasonable to me 😜 I always use having not to buy things because of bday/xmas being in Dec as an excuse to buy a load of things in Jan. Plus there’s so many sales… πŸ˜† x

        Like

      • haha exactly!! so it’s like you’re saving money really! :P xx

        Like

      • Yup! Plus thanks to all the over time i did in Nov and Dec I have still saved more despite spending more, so I don’t feel bad about it. Just gonna get it out my system and cut down again next month x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly. Go us! <3 I busted my ass working two jobs september-january I think I deserve to get a little spendy! Saving shall resume in february! x

        Like

      • Definitely ❀️
        Then some fairly hardcore saving needs to start because I’m determined to go to Tokyo next March and I want to go away this year too!x

        Like

      • Ooohhhh that sounds amazing! One of my best friends is Australian and she’s getting married in November, so I neeeeed to go to Perth this autumn because I just can’t miss her wedding! I feel the saving determination! Also I’m hoping to move in with my boyfriend in the early summer, then after Australia the next big goal is learning to drive. Always always always spending money. x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oooo nice! We can support each other in not spending too much haha you can tell me off when I post hauls πŸ˜† x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hahah same goes for me! :P February is saving month! x

        Like

  2. I’m so sorry that the formula didn’t work for you, especially because the scent was special to you. Did it really resemble a scent that you remembered from Japan?
    On a brighter note, congratulations for reaching 200 followers :o) I always enjoy your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hate it when you have a reaction to a products. Such a shame! I need to get more bath bombs, more of a bath oil person myself! Congrats on 200 followers! I remember when you asked me how to get more followers, so proud 😒! Haha 😊

    Like

    • Definitely a disappointment, but oh well. There’s plenty of other Lush products I’ve tried and loved to fill my baths with! I love the bubble bars, because I find bubbles really relaxing.
      Haha oh yeah I did! Man that was ages ago! Someone asked me a while back how to get followers and I just reiterated all your advice :p x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on the numbers! I don’t have particularly sensitive skin but I find that I’m allergic to many of their products….Sad…..
    xo
    styleontheside.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

