Let’s Talk… Moisturiser

moisturiser

The winter is really taking its toll on my skin. I know that as the weather changes it’s best to change your skincare routine to meet different needs, but this year my skin has gone really dry and, in some places, I’ve even gotten a few small patches of eczema. I haven’t had trouble with eczema since I was about 5! To counter this, I raided my stash for moisturisers. Here’s what I’m using at the moment.

IMG_2121

Eucerin Even Brighter Day Cream

This is one I use all year round, as its so good for my face. Not only is it really hydrating, but it also has SPF 30 and helps to even out the skin. As someone with the complexion of a freckly ghost, the SPF is essential and the main reason I first picked it up. I briefly strayed from it for TBS Vitamin C moisturiser, but ended up breaking out endlessly, so I went back to this trusted product. It’s a little bit pricey at £22.50 for 50ml, but at the same time a tub lasts me a few months and stopping those harmful rays will be good for anti-aging in the long run.

Vichy Normaderm Night Detox

It may be a little bit of a stretch to call this a moisturiser, as it is mainly a spot treatment, but it does leave my skin feeling soft so I’m counting it. I got this on recommendation of another blogger, I forget who (sorry!) and I haven’t regretted it at all. This has helped to reduce sebum production, tighten my pores and reduce blackheads and blemishes. When it settles in, it feels a bit silicony on the skin, but in no way heavy. By morning, there is no sign it was there – other than the lack of greasiness! This is currently on offer for £11.25 for 40ml. Think I might go stock up…

Aveeno Daily Moisturising Lotion

I rediscovered this having finished up my latest tub of TBS Body Butter and I have to say, this is amazing! Hear me out. It’s thin, so a little spreads a long way, but not too thin. It absorbs quickly and yet you can still feel the added hydration 24hours later, as it claims. It’s unscented and hypoallergenic, which is perfect for the current eczema flare ups I’m having. And it says it will significantly improve the condition of dry skin in two weeks! I’m going to start using this daily on my arms and legs (where my eczema is), to give this last claim a thorough test and hopefully I will see an improvement. This is only £5.69 for 200ml.

Soap & Glory Heel Genius

Something I tend to neglect during this time of year is my feet. As someone who gets hard skin build up on pressure points, this is something I need to pay more attention to! Especially when I’m standing up so much at work. So out came this, forgotten since the summer. I find this foot cream works best when applied and left to soak in under a pair of socks. It smells of peppermint and makes the hard skin on my feet a lot softer and nicer. Plus it helps to stop the skin drying out in the first place. This is £5.50 for 125ml, which isn’t too bad. I’m going to try and remember to use this once a week from now on.

Soap & Glory Hand Food

This is one of the more recent additions to my collection, so I haven’t used it much, but I like it so far. Despite having applied all that other moisturiser, I thought my hands felt a bit dry so gave it a test. It smells really pleasant and is quite thick, so spreads a lot. I squeezed a little too much out so it took longer to absorb than I’d like, but all in all it seems like a good product. I have a 50ml mini which you can get for £2.50, but they also have a 125ml tube for £5.50.

That’s all the moisturisers I’m using at the moment! Have you tried any of them? What do you think?

14 responses to “Let’s Talk… Moisturiser

  1. You should try cetaphil, you can usually get it at boots, i love it because its so versatile and actually works. I sometimes get dry skin on my face but this conpletely gets rid of it for me whereas lots of other moosturisers i have tried just sink in and do nothing

    Xoxo

    https://blondewaves.wordpress.com

    Blondewaves

    Like

  2. Egyptian Magic! Everyone needs a tub of this stuff.

    Like

  3. I love the Soap and Glory Heel Genius, it is fantastic for softening your feet. I apply it, then wear socks to go tobed in and when I wake up in the morning my feet feel silky soft.

    Like

  4. Fab post – thanks so much for sharing, moisturising is an essential for me this time of year so this is really helpful!! :) x

    Like

  5. Hi,

    I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award!

    Details of the award are on my blog.

    Thank you for being a fantastic blogger xo.

    BLOG:
    http://www.thebeautyprotest.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: January Favourites | rachwat

  7. Pingback: Empties 5 | rachwat

Leave a Reply

