My 2015 Life Goals

IMG_2101.JPG

For some reason, I really don’t like the idea of New Years Resolutions, but will happily think of some goals for the upcoming year. I think the difference is that a resolution is an idea people have that they then don’t stick to (e.g. stop swearing) whereas a goal is an achievable target. Am I the only one who thinks this?

Here’s my goals for the upcoming year:

1. Get a design job

Okay so this is one you’ve probably all read about on the blog before, but I really thought I’d have had a job long before now when I was finishing my degree. I was wrong about that but it’s still what I really really want to do, so here’s to making it happen.

2. Move out of my parents

Having finished uni without a job lined up, I took the sensible financial option and moved back home. Although I have settled in back here for now at some point I would like to take that leap towards independence and adulthood.

3. Visit Danielle

One of my best and oldest friends, Danielle, has lived in Spain for many years now and due to everything going on in our lives it can be difficult to find a suitable time to meet up. Now I’m less restricted by term times, I want to go over and see her again as it’s been a couple of years since I last saw her and even more since I last went over there.

4. Go to Edinburgh

I am surprised that I’ve managed to reach the age of 22 and have never visited Scotland. I don’t really know how it happened but it has and I’ve been wanting to go for ages. I’m thinking a long weekend in Edinburgh would be a good place to start. (I’ve also never been to Ireland!)

5. Try something new

I love to try new things, I’m a curious person so like to experience things for myself. This year new experiences included going to Yo Sushi for the first time, London Comic Con and taking ballet lessons.

6. Be healthier

Although I would like to lose weight and I do have a weight goal in mind, I would mostly like to be healthier in general. To me this means physically fitter as well as losing weight as I think both would make me feel better about myself and also in myself.

7. Get a hobby

I used to always be doing some kind of hobby, but somehow I have ended up without one, aside from running my blog. I’d like to get something else to do with my time, preferably one that ties into the health goal as I don’t currently do any regular exercise. I loved doing my ballet classes and looked forward to the lessons so that’s something I will be looking into.

8. Donate blood

This is one I haven’t done as much as I should, but is definitely one I want to keep up. I have only donated four times in the past three years, but giving blood is such an easy, selfless thing to do. I recently received a letter to say I have an unusual subtype which makes my blood rare and in demand. Think it’s time to book an appointment!

9. Get another tattoo

I’ve been wanting another tattoo for a few years now, but have refrained because of the cost. But I have three planned and I think it’s not unreasonable for me to save up and get one during this year now that I have my own income again.

10. Be more social

You’re probably not surprised to hear that my social life took a hit after finishing uni, but you’d probably be surprised to know that I can easily go a month without seeing any of my friends. This is partly thanks to not having set shifts and working weekends and that we’re all spread out over the place, but I want to make more of an effort to catch up and keep in touch.

So there’s ten life goals I have for this year! What do you want to achieve in 2015?

Leave a Reply

