Empties 3

Happy Halloween everyone! Yup, another empties post already! I’ve been surprisingly good at using up my old products lately, but I’ve also got some items in here which are just too old to still be usable. First up, the products which are actually empty!

IMG_1847

Okay so some not so exciting products here in terms of dental hygiene, but its still an important part of my beauty regime so thought I’d give them a quick mention. I’ve been using Sensodyne Pronamel Toothpaste for years as I have sensitive teeth. This stuff really helps me and when I’ve gone away and used other toothpastes, I’ve really noticed. This is a forever repurchase for me. I currently have another tube waiting as I stock up when this is on offer. It was on one of these offers that I picked up the Sensodyne Pronamel Mouthwash, which is also a good product. If you have sensitive teeth, give these a try.

Next, is the E.L.F. High Definition Powder, which is hailed as a must-have by a lot of bloggers, but I just don’t think it compares to Rimmel’s Stay Matte Powder which is half the cost. I had the translucent powder which is £6.95. I won’t be repurchasing this.

I have made no secret of the fact that I love the Seventeen Va Va Voom Mascara and I am really sad that it has finally run out. This is so good at given volume and the blackest black shade is a true black. The brush is really big, but it is surprisingly easy to use. This mascara is a lot better than some higher priced ones I’ve tried. I plan on repurchasing this in future, as I think the £6.29 price tag is very reasonable, but at the moment I have another mascara I’m using.

IMG_1848

You may have seen the review of the Schwarzkopf Essence Ultime Hair Mask that I posted earlier this week. If so, then you’ll know that I really like this and have already started using my second tub. So so worth the £5.49 it costs, but it’s currently half price in Boots, so keep an eye out for it! I actually told my hair dresser about this yesterday and she now wants to get some.

The last properly empty product is La Riche Directions in Tangerine. This is a product that is not going to be of use to everyone, but an essential to me for colour maintenance. I use this once a week, mixed with the mask to help revitalise my colour. As my hair dye fades to pink, I use this orange to keep it truer to the red tone I like. I’ve also used Directions in Poppy Red to dye my hair all over before, which is a very pinky red, so I’d recommend that to any red heads who find their colour goes orange as it fades. I buy this in a multi buy on Amazon, as it works out a lot cheaper per tub. I’ve got more at the moment, but I’ll repurchase in the future I’m sure.

IMG_1849

I bought this E.L.F. Cream Eyeliner (£3.95) ages ago, but I’ve never used it because its dried out and doesn’t apply smoothly at all. It has just been lying around since because I cannot use it, so it’s time to go. Definitely won’t be repurchasing this, but they are well reviewed online, so I might have just got a dud. The shade I have is Plum Purple and isn’t available on the website.

Next is a product I am really disappointed to see here. I wrote a really positive review of the Aussie Miracle Dry Shampoo (£4.99), as it is by far the best dry shampoo I have tried. I had this for about a month when the aerosol in it suddenly went, meaning there is still product in the can, but I can’t use it. From the sound of it, there is a quite a lot of product left, which is so disappointing. I also know I am not the only one to have this happen, so hopefully Aussie will soon replace the dodgy cans on the shelves and then I can happily use this. Until then, I am using another product.

This next product taught me a very important lesson – don’t buy cheap hair oil. I got the aargan oil in BM for £1.99, thinking it could be a much cheaper dupe to my usual hair oil. It’s not even worth the price, its so bad. It doesn’t make my hair soft and easy to brush like the other oils, which I put down to being less concentrated so I applied a bit extra and ended up with disgustingly greasy hair. I didn’t even last 24hours before I went and washed my hair again to get rid of the product and I haven’t touched the bottle since. Oh and the bottle has leaked in that time. Great. I’m glad to see it go in the bin! If you’re after a hair oil treatment, I recommend either this Argan Oil Hair Treatment (£12.99 for 100ml but lasts over 6 months) or L’oreal Professional Mythic Oil (£13.60 for 125ml) which contains argan and grapeseed oil amongst other goodness.

IMG_1828

Lastly, we have a selection of nail varnishes, some of which I know I had before I went to uni. L-R is Barry M 284, 299 and 292, all of which are metallic and nice colours, but have either separated or dried out over time. Then there is a mini Leighton Deny polish which came as part of a gift set I think. The shade is called Sugar Babe, but has gone really gloopy. The 17 nail polish is one that’s meant to make magnetic patterns, but is really quite gimmicky and didn’t ever really work. The shade is simply called green and has now separated. The Rimmel Crack Your Colour top coat was also quite gimmicky and you had to use a very thin coat to get it to work. I did like it, but it was awkward to use and it’s now gone dry. Finally, is a royal blue varnish which was part of a Christmas gift set in Boots. This colour lasted longer than the others before separating, but after two years its going in the bin. Out of all of them, I would buy Barry M, Leighton Deny and Rimmel varnishes again, although I’ve gone off metallics and wouldn’t buy another cracking top coat.

And that’s everything! Quite a variety of products this time and it’s nice to have freed up some space for my newer products that I love. Have you tried any of these products before? What do you think of them?

 

2 responses to “Empties 3

  1. Avon’s Argan Oil Leave In Treatment – my new best friend! | twolittleowlsblog
    http://twolittleowlsblog.wordpress.com/2014/02/13/avons-argan-oil-leave-in-treatment-my-new-best-friend/ I reviewed Avon’s hair oil a while ago – still my favourite to use and super cheap! Great post btw!
    Annie x

    Like

    • I’ve never tried it, I don’t really get any thing from Avon anymore. But I do love argan oil! It makes my hair so much more manageable, soft and shiny. An absolute must have for me 😊 x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

