Beauty Haul! Ft. Boots & Sainsbury’s

So this month I told myself that I didn’t really need any more beauty products and that I’d keep my money to sort my car out (MOT time!) and for going to Comic Con. Comic Con hasn’t happened yet, but the MOT went surprisingly well, so, inevitably, I went shopping.

Boots

IMG_1778
I actually started off surprisingly well this month and was quite restrained in Boots. Until I went back the next day and spent my points that is. It was a spend £50, get £12 worth of points day and I went along with my mum and got my brows done and grabbed a few bits and she got some things for Christmas. I spent I don’t know how long going round every single nail varnish stand looking at the greens. For me, finding the perfect green was all I needed to complete my nail polish stash (or so I tried to tell myself – I’ve since bought more). A lot of dark greens are quite blue, so I ended up spending the most I have ever on one varnish to buy one that wasn’t blue-based.

For some reason, I can’t find this brand on the Boots website. But this colour is called Emerald Tower. With two coats its comes out a beautiful deep green which is more khaki coloured than this photo implies and has good staying power. Unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture of it before I went to work 2 days after painting. (Work always ruins my nails) I paid £14, yes £14 for this. But finding a great green like this makes it worth the money. I can’t wait to try it out with a matte top coat over it.

IMG_1776

I also picked up these, as I think party feet are really good. I’ve only ever used the ones for the balls of your feet in high heels before, but I got the sore spots ones for my Docs, as I get two small areas that rub on the heel. I got the heel cushions for the River Island Chelsea boots I got last month, as they have got the RI logo in metal put into the inside sole. I have no idea why they decided to do that, as it really digs in when you wear them for a while, so I got these to put in to stop that happening. Now they will be super comfy. Yay! These are £4.49-£4.99 per pack.

That was actually all I got on my first trip to Boots, but when I went back I got some more exciting items.

IMG_1774

I originally only went back into Boots to buy some quick dry drops, which I realised I’d forgotten to get the day before. My glossy top coat dries really quickly which helps me keep my nails nice, but my matte top coat doesn’t, which has led to me smudging them on a few occasions. I got these Bourjois Instant Dry Nail Drops £5.99 to use with the matte top coat. I haven’t tried this yet, as I’ve only painted my nails once since getting them, but they’re quite well reviewed so I’m hopefully they’ll do the job.

IMG_1775

I then went to look at the Maybelline 24 Hour Colour Tattoo cream eyeshadows, which I’ve been wanting for a while. As they were on 3 for 2, I couldn’t resist. On the left is Creamy Beige and on the right is Pink Gold (£4.99 each) There was quite a limited colour range at my local store with only 8 of the colours available. I’ve been preferring to wear pale but bright colours on my eyes lately, as I wear heavy black eyeliner and mascara, so I opted for the Creamy Beige as I thought I’d give it a lot of wear. It’s part of the Leather Effect range, so has a matte finish.

However, I have so far been liking the Pink Gold a lot and so haven’t even swatched the beige yet. I don’t really know what drew me to the pink so much, as I wouldn’t say I am a pink person, despite my red hair frequently fading to pink. Although strongly pigmented, this is a much more wearable colour than you would think. It just seems to blend so nicely over my lids and works really well with my green eyes. Plus it lasts 12 hours with barely noticeable creasing without any primer. I haven’t even bothered to try it with primer under yet as it lasts so well!

The final product I picked up on the 3 for 2, was the Maybelline Great Lash Mascara in Blackest Black £4.99. This is regularly referred to as a cult classic and I think having seen it advertised so much around London Fashion Week I was drawn to it. Realising that it has a thick brush, which I like, and is volumising I figured I might as well give it a go. Besides, my beloved Va Va Voom is now really quite old and is starting to dry out causing it to clump and flake (this is after at least 9 months of having one tube, its a fantastic mascara which I adore), so I could grab this guilt-free.  I haven’t tried it out yet as I’m still desperately clinging on to my old one, but I’ll be using it soon.

Sainsbury’s

IMG_1777

Not exactly a normal place for people to say about buying their beauty products at, but let’s face it supermarkets do stock some good stuff and do great deals. Both of these products I got on the same day as the first Boots trip having not found the first one and deciding not to get the second as it wasn’t on offer.

The Schwarzkopf Essence Ultime Hair Mask has been one of my favourite hair discoveries of late and this is my second tub. I’ve since used my last one up, so I really was low when I got this. To my utter dismay, my local Boots has the entire ultime range, but has stopped stocking the hair masks from it. It’s currently half price at Boots so if you can find it, get it! I paid the full £5.49 at Sainsbury’s because I was just so happy to find it! It is worth the money though, but who doesn’t love a bargain? This makes my hair super soft and sleek and helps with split ends. Love love love.

I got the L’oreal EverRiche Nourishing & Taming Shampoo for £4 down from 6. I did want to get the colour protect version until I noticed that the key ingredients in it were rosemary and juniper. I smelt it and could only think of stuffing, which is not what I want my hair to smell like! So instead I got this one which has apricot seed in it. This is a lot thinner than my current sulphate free shampoo, making it easier to work in to my hair. I’ve only used it twice so far but I really like it.

Okay so that’s everything I got this time! I have since been out and got a couple of other little bits, but this is me all stocked up for the month now. I have absolutely everything I need so I’m considering going on a spending ban for beauty products. What do you guys think? Have you done a spending ban or tried any of these products?

2 responses to “Beauty Haul! Ft. Boots & Sainsbury’s

  1. I’ve really tried to stop sending lately…. But then I had my friends wedding last weekend which I was a bridesmaid for and it made me by more make up without realising! Been so busy I haven’t had time to do a haul for them lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

