Empties 2

IMG_1773

I’ve been making a big effort recently to use up my old products that have been lying around for ages. I, like a lot of people, buy new things when I start getting low and then get too excited about the new product to make sure I use up the old one before I start using it, so I’ve been trying to change that. The result? Another small pile of empties has cropped up so time for some reviews!

La Roche-Posay Effaclar Microastringent Lotion

This is quite expensive at £11 a bottle, but it does last a long time. I actually had this for about 9 months! But it has finally run out. I really like this because it is great for making sure that all my make up has been removed from my pores after a cleanse, however as it has quite a lot of alcohol in it, it can be quite harsh and drying, so I’m in two minds about this. At the moment, I’m trying out a secondary cleanser to use after removing my make up which is kinder to my skin, but its hard to tell if it is as effective as this. I may repurchase this in the future though, but for now I want to stick with what I’ve got and get the anti-blemish cream from this range.

Nair Argan Oil Hair Removal Cream

Initially, I was impressed with this product but now that I’ve finished the tube, not so much. It’s a big improvement on their previous hair removal creams in terms of smell, and it is much more hydrating, but it just doesn’t work as well as I’d expect and it doesn’t last long enough either. The instructions are quite vague too. I actually only used this twice – calf and half way up my thigh and ran out the second time before I could start on my other leg, so a 200ml tube is really only good for one use. That makes it £6.69 a go! You’re also meant to keep it in but go in the shower for a few minutes, which means if you’re not really really careful a lot of the cream will wash off before you can remove it with the spatula thingy, leaving you hairy. Will not repurchase.

Aveeno Daily Moisturising Lotion

I love this stuff! A little goes a long way, so this 200ml tube has lasted me over a year (although I have been using other moisturisers too). So it is well worth the £5.49 price tag! It is gentle enough to be used anywhere and is so hydrating that you really will still notice the effects of this 24hours after you apply it. It absorbs well too and is hypoallergenic. Will I repurchase? Well, I already have another tube!

Sure Crystal Invisible Deodorant Anti-perspirant

I’ve never reviewed a deodorant before, but we all use it so why not include it? This is normally £2, but I bought it on offer for £1 as I was getting some dry skin under my arms and wanted to change from my spray deodorant to help with that. This did last a couple of months and didn’t leave any deodorant marks, which is great, but it wasn’t strong enough to stop me sweating when at work. I might grab this again if its on offer in the future, but at the moment I’m giving something else a go, which seems to be better as an anti-perspirant.

Eucerin Even Brighter Day Cream

My absolute favourite thing about this cream is that is has SPF 30 in it. I’m naturally so pale I feel like I need to make more of an effort to protect my skin from the sun. Plus sun damage leads to signs of ageing so it makes sense to have a daily moisturiser with protection in it. I bought this around the same time as the Effaclar and both have run out at the same time, although I only got into the habit of using this daily over the summer months. I have missed this since it ran out, because it really did make a difference to the condition of my skin, but I am finally going to get the Vitamin C moisturiser from The Body Shop to replace this, as it has the same SPF, but is much cheaper. This is a great cream though, but is £22.50 for 50ml, whereas the Body Shop one is £13 for the same amount.

(I say finally, because it was sold out all last month both online and in store and the other day I got a call from my local store to let me know they’ve got one put aside for me, which I picked up on Thursday!)

That’s it for this batch of empties! I’ve got a few more bits which are getting low/drying up so I don’t think it will be too long until there’s another bunch of products to review for you!

 

Leave a Reply

