Switching To Sulphate Free Shampoo – Week 2 & 3

IMG_1644

Okay so this is the promised follow-up post to let you all know how I’m getting on with changing to sulphate free shampoo. If you haven’t seen it already, you can read about why I switched and how I got in during the first week here.

I did originally say that I would do an update after a week, however I felt like there wasn’t really much to say apart from giving more unanswered questions so I’ve waited to do an extra week to give you all a better idea of what it’s been like to make the switch. The products pictured above are from The Body Shop’s Rainforest range (£4.50 each).
Week 2

At the end of week 1, I was hopeful that I would be able to go an extra day without washing my hair and to my delight, this is true! Yay! Going an extra day between washes is great, as it means less dye washing down the drain and less heat drying out my hair. Plus it’ll make my shampoo etc last a bit longer too! This is one of the reasons that I decided to do two weeks together, as it meant I had only washed my hair once in the middle of this week.

However, I was noticing a couple of things which weren’t so great. The first was that my hair, even the day after washing, was greasy in the middle at the roots and the second was that I started getting dandruff quite badly. I have never suffered from dandruff before (unless you count a sunburnt scalp) so I was pretty upset to find big flakes appearing in my hair and on my clothes and especially at having them pointed out to me. My theory on why this happened is that the harsher sulphate containing shampoos stripped dry skin from the scalp out better than the sulphate free shampoo and washing less frequently would only accentuate this. At the end of week 2/beginning of week 3 I washed my hair a day earlier than I could’ve because I thought the amount of dandruff was too much and that the easiest way to freshen my hair up to get rid of it was to wash it. However, I did dye my hair at the beginning of week 2 so that probably made it all worse too.

Week 3

When washing my hair, I have taken up a new technique. I apply a small amount of shampoo into my hands and then rub that into the sides of my head where I was having grease problems. I then do the same to the top and bottom of my head and work all four points together to ensure that all my hair is washed properly. The first time I did this, I definitely ended up using far too much shampoo and actually ended up with the most lather I have ever had using sulphate free products. However, this did mean the grease problem went away, so I think I was just not working the shampoo enough to get it to spread through my thick hair properly.

Also, the dandruff situation has improved! I think the flakiness could have been due to my hair adjusting to the new product and different amount of oil produced by my hair. It’s still not 100% flake free, but it is greatly reduced and I’m confident this will go by the end of next week.

As for my colour, I may be using products formulated for colour treated hair, but I am definitely seeing colour wash down the drain. Having said that, I have had less fade since I switched. Plus my hair feels much more nourished and is in far better condition than it was before, so the natural oils are doing me some good!

Summary

Overall, I am glad I switched my shampoo to The Body Shop’s Rainforest range. Being able to go longer between washes and having my colour last longer is well worth the teething problems I have had so far. I’ll give another update in due course when my hair has completely settled into its new routine to give a full review.

What do you think about sulphate free shampoo? Are you using one or thinking about making the switch?

12 responses to “Switching To Sulphate Free Shampoo – Week 2 & 3

  1. I noticed the other day that i actually have a bottle of this in my bathroom that I forgot about! I suffer with dry scalp so I’ve kinda stuck to the body shop Dandruff Shampoo with the ginger in. I always think when I use something else it’s because I’ve stopped using that but I might try this again.

    Like

    • Oh really? Could be worth giving it another go then! I’m not sure if they do an antidrandruff version of this but if you can bear to stick with it for a few weeks you might notice an improvement anyway once your hair gets used to the natural ingredients x

      Like

  2. I’ve been hearing Sulfate free is the way to go but I haven’t tried many to know whether it is or not. Thanks for the honest review. I have dry scalp as well and so if this helps that’s awesome :) Will have to check it out for sure.
    http://prettyloved.wordpress.com

    Like

  3. I’m glad you’re liking it, even though it comes with growing pains. Keep us updated.

    Like

  4. Hello my dear blogger, I just nominated you for the “One Lovely Blog” award.
    I’d apprecite if you check my post out here: http://tinyurl.com/pwvsuhn

    xox

    Berenice G.

    Like

  5. Sounds really interesting, I wanted to try these when they came out butt here was so much hype that it was always out of stock, then fotgot! i’ve got a body shop outlet near me, so will go today and get this… And the Aussie dry shampoo! X

    Like

    • Glad you liked it! After talking to you yesterday I wrote up a proper review of the Aussie dry shampoo and it’s just gone up so maybe take a read of that before you bite? 😄 x

      Like

  6. Pingback: Switching To Sulphate Free Shampoo – Reviews | rachwat

Leave a Reply

