September Glossybox First Impressions

IMG_1726

I did say I’d gone a bit beauty box crazy this month didn’t I? Well, hopefully as followers of my blog you understand my growing obsession with them. The third and final box I got this month was my usual Glossybox. Now I know I promised this post on Monday, but I missed the postman and then my dad collected it on Tuesday, but I wasn’t at home. I’ve just got back, opened this up and boy oh boy was it worth the wait!

First of all, I want to talk about how pretty this box is. I love the watercolour London skyline decoration and the beautiful nude palette chosen for it. It’s just gorgeous! This box was created in collaboration with Karen Millen and includes a discount voucher for their stores.

IMG_1728IMG_1729

Now, I know I’ve only just opened this box and haven’t actually tried anything out yet, but I think this is the best Glossybox I have received yet! It’s only my third box and I have currently unsubscribed to try out other boxes, but its a decision I am seriously questioning. Let’s get on to the products for you to see why:

ModelCo More Brows Fibre Gel

So before this month, I hadn’t heard of ModelCo, but I did get one of their lipglosses in my Birchbox and I have been pretty impressed with that so I’m happy to see this brow gel in here. Plus, I don’t own a brow gel, but have almost bought one. I got it in the shade medium dark, which will definitely leave me with a statement brow so I am slightly concerned it will be a bit too dark but I’m going to give it a go. Plus this is a full sized 3.5ml product which sells for £14.95. Already I’ve got a product worth more than the box costs.

L’oreal Professionel Mythic Oil

This was the spoiler product for this month’s box. Everyone was promised either the oil or a hair masque. I was kinda hoping for the hair masque, as I’m quite into them at the moment, but I do love hair products and I know L’Oreal do good quality hair products so I’m still happy to have this. It’s a really good sized sample too, at 45ml. This applies the same as my argan oil after showering so assuming its a concentrated, this sample should last at least a month! This oil has some great ingredients too – avocado, grape seed, cotton seed, and argan oils. A full sized bottle is £15.95 for 125ml, which is roughly the same as my current hair oil. Really looking forward to giving this a go!

Skin Prep Enzyme and Acid Peel and Dark Circle Eraser

This are the silver sachets . There’s two of the peels and one of the eye cream. I am a little concerned about the word acid being included in the description as I do have sensitive skin, but the information card says that it creates ‘gently exfoliated, soft and bright skin’, so maybe it’s not quite as scary as it sounds. The eye cream claims to use anti-oxidants to boost collagen in the eye area to get rid of dark circles. These are seriously pricey products! They’re sold both in sachets and in larger bottles. The peel is £3.05 for the 3.5ml sachet (or £89.99 for 180ml!) and the eye cream is £6.49 for the 2ml sachet!!! (or £44.99 for 15ml). With a price tag like that, I am intrigued to see how good they really are!

IMG_1732 copyTop: Without top coat, Bottom: With matte top coat

Nails Inc Westminster Bridge Matte Top Coat

Say hello to my instant favourite item from this box! I kid you not I started filling and painting my nails whilst I was editing the pictures for the post because I was that impatient to try it out! If you follow me on twitter you may have seen that I was lusting after the new autumn matte nail paint colours from Barry M, as I love my matte black from them. Well, thanks to this top coat, I can now recreate that much loved matte finish with any of my nail varnishes! I painted my nails using one of my favourite colours (Essie’s Bordeaux), which I think is the perfect autumn shade then put a layer of the matte top coat over. It goes on glossy, then dries to a gorgeous, smooth matte finish. Perfect. I’ve demonstrated this in the image above, please excuse my messy paint job! I don’t think the photograph properly captures just how nice this colour looks matte, but you can see just how much of the gloss has gone matte. This is another full sized product, 10ml, which retails for £12.

Nivea 3 in 1 Micellar Cleansing Water

Yet another full sized product! This is a 200ml bottle worth £4.07 – a pretty random price. Now you’re probably all sick of me going on about my love for my Garnier micellar water, but I have only tried out one other brand, which I wasn’t as impressed with (I swear I’ll do a comparison review soon!), but I am more than happy to give another one a go! To add to my pleasure at receiving a full sized bottle of this, it’s also formulated for sensitive skin! Yay! Can’t wait to try this one out.

Overall, this is an amazing box! I know I haven’t tried anything out properly yet, but this is a box full of products I would pick out in a store. Previously, Glossybox have had complaints that the products they’ve sent out haven’t been compared against the beauty profiles people have filled out, but I think they’ve made a big effort on that front this month. If you include the sachets as full sized, becuase you can buy them that way, then this box has a whopping 6 full sized products and one sample. Plus the sample is a really good size. To my astonishment, this box is worth about £50! Incredible for a box which sells for £13.25 (including P+P). To top it off, I didn’t even pay for this box, as I got it free on their rewards scheme – yes you really can get enough points for a free box within a couple of months!

Incase that wasn’t enough, they’ve included a flyer revealing next month’s theme and a sneak peek! And I want it. Time to go reactive my subscription to Glossybox, because they really have won me over this month.

If you want to sign up to Glossybox, then I would be grateful if you used my referral link below. This does give me points towards their rewards scheme.

http://www.glossybox.co.uk/referal?CI=MTcwNjEx

 Product reviews are now up here

15 responses to “September Glossybox First Impressions

  1. I was really surprised about this month’s box, but the themed boxes like this month usually are. Just a shame that it’s not up to this standard every month in my opinion.

    Like

  2. Oh my god! I’d have loved to get some of those items – typical, I chose Birchbox over Glossybox then Glosdybox release the best box ever lol damn it! I’m so jealous! X

    Like

    • Haha I originally cancelled my Glossybox to keep trying out Birchbox, but after getting this box I cancelled Birchbox and resubscribed to Glossybox! This box was just amazing and the flyer for next months box is promising everyone a full sized Nuxe product worth £19.50!
      Septembers box is still available if you can afford to get a second beauty box this month x

      Like

  3. This box had really nice products in! The micellar water seems good from what I’ve read! ;) xx

    Gyudy’s Notes Of Beauty

    Like

    • It’s an amazing box! I’ve been really enjoying using the stuff in it! I hadn’t heard of a Nivea micellar water before I got it, but it is good. I’m building up a small collection of them now! x

      Like

  4. Pingback: Best Micellar Water: Garnier vs Botanics vs Nivea | rachwat

  5. Pingback: 2014 Beauty Discoveries | rachwat

  6. Pingback: Empties 7 | rachwat

Leave a Reply

