NOTD Ft. Essie and Sally Hansen

I’ve mentioned a few times on here before that I am terrible for chipping, smudging or otherwise ruining my nails within 24 hours of painting them. In fact, I’ve gone so far as to say I find it impossible to make a manicure last that long. Those days are now behind me! Thanks to these great tips from Anomalous Me Beauty, whose blog is really worth following if you’re not already!

I picked out my high end products to give this a go, as I know from many many reviews that they’re meant to be a lot better lasting than I’ve ever managed.

IMG_1650
L-R: Sally Hansen Maximum Growth Plus Base + Top Coat £4.89 (used as base), Essie Nail Colour in Bordeaux £7.99, Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Top Coat £5.99

The first thing I did differently, was to use a cotton pad with some nail varnish remover on to clean my nails and help rid them of excess oils. I then painted my nails, taking care to use thin coats and making sure I waited until each layer was touch dry before applying another. My top coat is really quick drying to the touch, which has helped me to not smudge my nails within an hour or to of painting them, but I still made sure I was sat still for an hour after applying it to make sure all my varnish had properly dried. Finally, I put on some of my hand cream. Yes, the Figs & Rouge one I was praising recently.

I never realised it before, but I do have oily nails and I think cleaning them before applying my varnish is what has made the biggest difference. One of my main problems has been that my varnish would always peel off, with or without a base coat. I think this is because the oil stopped the varnish from adhering properly to my nail, as this now doesn’t happen. Plus, I went over 24hours without having a chip!

IMG_1630 IMG_1631

These pictures were taken the following evening, having painted my nails at lunchtime. What’s most impressive about this is that I am always active with my hands and in the day and a bit since I had painted them, I had done a shift at work and even had my hands in a tiny gap changing a car headlight, but still chip free! I was a little too cautious about taking the excess varnish off the brush when applying, which is why there’s a few lighter, streaky patches, but in future I’ll try to be a bit more generous.

It’s now been 4 days since I painted them and I have only chipped 3 nails (and broken a further two), so I now need to redo them, but I will continue to use this method. So thank you to Emma from Anomalous Me Beauty for sharing your tips, as it’s made a huge difference to the longevity of my manicure!

2 responses to “NOTD Ft. Essie and Sally Hansen

Leave a Reply

