E.L.F. Haul Review – Part 1

Earlier this month, I went on a shopping spree on the E.L.F. website, taking advantage of the 50% off and free shipping. I got a total of 12 products for just over £20, which is such a bargain. I’ve now tried everything out thoroughly and so its time to review them. As there’s quite a lot, I’ve decided to split this into two posts so its easier to digest.

This part will focus on face products – the foundation, face powder, brushes and blusher that I bought – and the second will talk about everything else – the eye products, lip products and nail varnish. All the prices on the post are the RRP as shown on the E.L.F. website.

IMG_1612

IMG_1614

First up, the Flawless Finish Foundation in Porcelain – £7.50. This is the palest shade they do in the foundation and if anything it’s a touch too dark still. It has quite a thick, creamy consistency and does blend well. When used with a good powder, I have found that it will last most of the day, but I think it’s been a bit hot for it really as it has been slipping. Now that it’s started to cool down I think I’ll have to give this another go, maybe even mixing it with a touch of moisturiser to make it blend into my skin better. As for the bottle, it is quite small, only a 23g one (my other foundation is a 30g which is a lot bigger difference than it seems). It is made of glass and has a surprisingly good pump. If you do a full pump you’ll easily have enough product to do your whole face, if not a tad too much. However, you can quite easily get only a small amount of product out if you’re gentle with the pump. I also like that this has some SPF included. I honestly don’t know why any facial moisturisers or foundations wouldn’t these days. Would I repurchase the foundation? I’m not sure. Possibly if they brought out a paler shade.

IMG_1618

Next, is the High Definition Powder in Translucent – £6.95. I bought this powder as I have seen a lot of good reviews about it and bloggers rave about it. Did it live up to the hype? No. The first thing I noticed about this is that the packaging is unnecessarily chunky. It takes up almost half of my make up bag. It does come with a puff in the pot, but I find the powder applies better with a brush so I’d be happy to have a smaller pot without it. As for the product, when used with the Kabuki Face Brush it blends well into the skin and leaves it feeling soft. I actually really like how soft it makes my skin feel, but I do think it makes my pores look more accentuated and I don’t know why this is. But every time I put this on, I find myself staring at the pores on the tops of my cheeks and I hadn’t really noticed them before that. However, the powder does last me most of the day. Would I repurchase this? No, I prefer my Rimmel powder.

IMG_1617

The Kabuki Face Brush – £6 is definitely one of my favourites products I have gotten from E.L.F. The bristles are so soft, but also quite dense, meaning that powder sits on the ends of the brush and it is really pleasant to use. I haven’t lost any bristles out of this since I’ve been using it and I have been using it every day I have worn make up. When this brush starts to get a bit tired I will be repurchasing this, but I don’t think it’s going to wear out any time soon.

IMG_1615

Sticking with brushes, I also got the Blushing, Bronzing and Blending Brush – £1.95. Considering I paid £1 for this brush, I can’t really make any complaints about it, but I think I would have found it more practical to have a rounded brush head than a slanted one for blending in cream blush. It is really good for powder blush though. This brush also comes with a plastic slip to product the brush in your bag. Again, I haven’t lost any bristles from this brush in the few weeks I’ve been using it. I am thoroughly impressed with the value for money offered by the E.L.F. brush line.

IMG_1616

And lastly, the All Over Colour Stick in Pink Lemonade – £1.95. This is sold as a 3 in 1 product to be used on your eyes, lips and face, but I only like it as a blusher. And man does it work well as a blusher. It is creamy, but well pigmented, blending well into my cheeks leaving a lovely touch of colour. I put it on under my powder and it lasts me all day. I know I said it before, but I honestly cannot get over how much this smells of sherbet! I have tried this on my lips, but found it felt quite drying and the shade I got is too pink for me to like it as an eyeshadow. I much prefer either nudes or smokey looking colours. But I would repurchase this and continue using it as a blusher.

Well that’s it for this half of the reviews! Hope you enjoyed it. Have you tried any of the products I bought? What did you think of them?

6 responses to “E.L.F. Haul Review – Part 1

  1. Oh Rachael, I forgot to say in our Body Shop convo – they also do make up brushes! Haha, I might have to try some of those out! X

    Like

    • Yes they’re meant to be good too! I actually did an order on fragrance direct over the weekend and picked up the body shop vitamin c Microdermabrasion for £5! So excited to finally try something from that range :) x

      Like

      • Ooo that sounds great! Can’t wait to read that :) I still need to put up my oil-in-serum review too! X

        Like

      • I can’t wait for my order! Got some products for as little as 50p! And there was a free shipping code. Score! I really am a sucker for a discount haha. Oo I hope you put the serum review up soon! I wanna know what you thought of it!x

        Like

      • I’ll try and write up today at some point – I would’ve done it before but I’ve been so busy!
        OMG that’s so good, I’ll definitely have to check out fragrance direct when I get paid haha x

        Like

      • They’re honestly so good! I went looking for skincare products and found things from revlon, Clinique and other brands. Plus I got some ciate nail varnishes for £2 each! There’s some really good bargains to be found.
        I’ll keep an eye out for your post!x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

