FOTD: E.L.F. Cosmetics

As promised in my previous haul post, I’ve created an every day make up look using the E.L.F. products I got. This is a basic look that I would wear every day and have actually worn a few times in the last week.

img_1551
E.L.F. products I used:

  1. Kabuki Face Brush – £6
  2. High Definition Powder in Translucent – £6.95
  3. Flawless Finish Foundation in Porcelain – £7.50
  4. Studio Eyebrow Kit in Light – £3.95
  5. Studio Single Eyeshadow in Raspberry Truffle – £3.95
  6. Blushing, Bronzing and Blending Brush – £1.95
  7. Liquid Eyeliner in Black – £1.95
  8. All Over Colour Stick in Pink Lemonade – £1.95
  9. Lengthening and Volumising Mascara in Black – £3.95
  10. Luscious Liquid Lipstick in Raspberry – £1.95

None E.L.F. products used:

  1. Garnier Anti-Dark Circles Eye Roll On – £10.49
  2. Nicka K New York Perfecting Eyeshadow Primer – £4.99

imageEyeshadow here used without primer.

First of all, I’d like to say sorry that these aren’t the best photos. I took them whilst away so the rooms had different lighting than I normally have so I do seem to have some really bad hair thanks to being backlit. As I haven’t been feeling well, I didn’t realise at the time how bad the first photo is, so big apology for that. I’m also in the process of growing out my brows to get them waxed so excuse the stray hairs please!

On to the actual products. I am overall impressed with the quality of E.L.F.’s make up. Yes there are some alternatives out there which I prefer to some of the products I used for this, but for the price I paid, I cannot fault anything too badly. In fact some of the stuff far surpassed my expectations, despite having read positive reviews online before buying them. The Studio Eyebrow Kit in Light and Kabuki Face Brush are definitely the best two things I got, but I also like the All Over Colour Stick in Pink Lemonade a lot too. The thing that strikes me most about the colour stick every time I use it is how much it smells like sherbet. Seriously, it does. The brow kit as you can see from the photos is really quite dark for a product classed as ‘light’ but this is because the blonde shade is called ‘ash’ so if you’re looking for a paler brow product, find the ‘ash’ one, which is unfortunately more difficult to get.

I found the eyeshadow creased without the primer, as shown in the picture above, but with an eyeshadow primer it lasted a lot longer and went on smoother and actually a lot darker if I wasn’t careful about putting too much product on the brush. But I do really love the shade, its the perfect replacement to a shadow I used to have and I think it makes my eyes look amazingly bright. As for the Luscious Liquid Lipstick in Raspberry, I would describe it as a lipgloss, as it goes on sheer and a bit sticky and doesn’t dry to a matte lipstick as I expected. I do like the colour of this though so I will continue to use it.

But if you are considering buying some E.L.F. products, then I would definitely give them a go! They may not be the best on the market at everything but there are some absolute bargains to be found. I’d recommend signing up for their emails if you do, because they regularly have really good discounts available.

That’s all I’m going to say about the products I got in my haul for now, as there are quite a few of them so I plan to do some proper reviews on everything over a couple of posts. I’m not sure whether to do this in 2 or 3 parts, what do you guys think?

4 responses to “FOTD: E.L.F. Cosmetics

  1. Pingback: E.L.F. Make Up Haul | rachwat

  2. Next time they have a sale, I’m stocking up! Love them :) Great items! Love the eye make up esp.
    http://prettyloved.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

