E.L.F. Make Up Review

A while ago, I visited the E.L.F. Cosmetics store in Cardiff and picked up a couple of bits. This review is a bit overdue but I’ve had time to really use and get to know these products so here’s what I got!

20140804-203138-73898394.jpg

  1. Jumbo Lip Gloss Stick in Pink Umbrellas – £2.95
  2. Lipstick in Fearless – £1.95
  3. Cream Eyeliner in Plum Purple – £3.95

Okay so starting with the lip products, I am in love with the lip gloss crayon! I wear it all the time. There’s a surprisingly large amount of product for the price, as it has a twisty bottom to push the product up, it’s so easy to apply, a beautiful nude pink shade, is a bit minty and isn’t drying! It’s doesn’t last when eating or drinking, but I keep this in my handbag and reapply as needed. I love this gloss so much, it not only made it into my July Favourites, but I’ve actually ordered another in a different shade!

The lipstick I am less in love with. As I’ve said before, when I see photos of myself wearing red lipstick I feel put off, so I have only worn this out once. The lipstick is really creamy so feels nice on but doesn’t have great staying power, especially when drinking. As for the colour, it’s definitely pink based, not a pure red. But for the price you can definitely afford to reapply as much as you need to!

20140804-204006-74406711.jpg Top: Jumbo Lip Gloss Stick in Pink Umbrellas, Bottom: Lipstick in Fearless

And last but not least, we have the cream eyeliner which is by far the worst eyeliner I have used in a very long time! I’m not sure where to start with this really because there is absolutely nothing I liked about this product. The colour is not plum at all, it’s not red enough, so doesn’t go with my eye colour as well as I’d expected. I wouldn’t call the eyeliner creamy, as it’s actually really dry and tough to get out the pot, leading it to clump on the brush and apply very unevenly. I’ve never worn this to say anything about it’s staying power because I’ve always got so frustrated at being unable to apply it that I’ve taken it off and gone back to my usual liquid eyeliner. What gets me most about the eyeliner is that it’s really well reviewed on the website, so maybe I just got a bad batch? Whatever the case, I will not be buying a cream eyeliner again.

20140804-204917-74957174.jpg

20140804-204915-74955680.jpg

Overall, I was impressed with the quality of the products offered by E.L.F. No, they aren’t the best on the market but for the price there are some gems to be found. Would I buy from E.L.F. again? I already have! They had a 50% off deal over the weekend and I got a pretty substantial haul, but the only repeat product for me is the Jumbo Lip Gloss Stick.

Have you tried any E.L.F. products? What are your favourites?

11 responses to “E.L.F. Make Up Review

  1. The Studio Brow Kit in Ash is an every day essential for me. Difficult to get a hold of on the UK store because its seemingly always out of stock, but I found it on Beauty Joint. I’ve always been interested in trying out their lip products because I am somewhat of a lipstick addict! Haha. Thanks for the review, shame about the eyeliner! <3

    Like

    • I’ve heard so many good things about the studio eyebrow kit that I went and ordered one! I’m a lip product addict too so I’ve got a liquid lipstick to try too :) x

      Like

      • I’m sure you’ll love the brow kit! I blame Shaanxo on youtube for that purchase! I do love Elf because even if it is a bit of a dud it isn’t so expensive that its painful it didnt work for you! Haha. I’m on the elf website now having a cheeky look at lip products! Whoops! Pay day needs to hurry up! xx

        Like

      • Haha I know the feeling! I got a bit carried away at the weekend because not only was it 50% off, but I got free shipping by spending £20 after the discount too! Got so much stuff! Definitely need to hold off for a while x) x

        Like

      • Hahah! Been there! Can’t wait to see what you think of it all (: xx

        Like

  2. Rachel, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award! Check out my post http://stephsilverlining.blogspot.com.au/2014/08/liebster-award.html for all the details :) Good luck and be sure to leave me a comment when you’ve posted your answers so I can read them too!

    Like

  3. love this post!! It would mean alot to me if you could check out my blog and maybe follow me, it’s ok if you don’t want to. I did a review on the montagne jeunesse facemasks, babylips etc. I love your blog keep up the good work! xx hatice

    Like

  4. Pingback: E.L.F. Make Up Haul | rachwat

Leave a Reply

