July Favourites

It’s that time again! Here’s the products I’ve been loving this month.

la_roche_posay_effaclar_lotion_product_front_1First up is the La Roche-Posay Effaclar Clarifying Lotion 200ml (£11). This contains a cleansing agent and micro-exfoliant to help unblock and reduce the size of pores. I use this in the evenings after removing my make up and I’m often surprised at how dirty the cotton pad is after using this, which just shows how much make up gets left in my pores! It leaves my skin feeling a little tight afterwards, but this soon wears off. I’ve had my bottle for months and I’m starting to get a bit low now, but I’m already on the look out for it on offer to buy another one!

love-is-heavenly
My favourite summer perfume is this beautiful fruity fragrance from Victoria’s Secret Love Is Heavenly and I have been wearing it daily this month. Unfortunately, Victoria’s Secret isn’t easily available in the UK. I bought this bottle in Duty Free in one of the London airports last summer. In the US, a 75 ml/2.5 Fl Oz bottle is $52, so about £31. Definitely worth checking out a Victoria’s Secret fragrance counter if you see one in an airport. They do beautiful perfumes, this is the second scent of theirs I own.

batiste-dry-shampoo-blush-200mlWe’ve had quite a heatwave in the UK this month, which has lead to some rather hot and at times humid weather. My hair gets greasier quicker in this kind of weather, partly because I run my hand through it more in an attempt to cool off and partly because of sweat. Washing my hair all the time is too much hassle for me, so Batiste Dry Shampoo in Blush (£2.99) is my saviour. I use it to freshen up my hair and it has a nice smell too. Simply spray on, rub in and brush out! I love this stuff!

E.L.F.-Essential-Jumbo-Lip-Gloss-Stick-Pink-UmbrellasI got this E.L.F. Jumbo Lip Gloss Stick in Pink Umbrellas (£2.95) earlier this month and I cannot stop using it. It’s a really nice pale pink shade, feels nice on and is a bit minty. I won’t say too much more as I still need to write a review of the E.L.F. products I bought from the Cardiff store!

And finally, my non-beauty favourite this month is True Blood! The final season started on HBO at the beginning of July and I am hooked! I’m sad the show’s ending, but so far it’s been a really good season and I can’t wait to see how it ends!
true-blood

So that’s another favourites done! What products have you been loving this month? Are you watching True Blood too?

24 responses to “July Favourites

  1. I love the Effaclar range :) May I give you an advice? Invest in a good cleanser and use this toner only patting it onto the skin, the ingredients will work but it will be less harsh ;)
    I always smell VS fragrances at the airport but I’ve never bought one, I should rectify that ;)
    Loved this! x

    gyudynotesofbeauty.blogspot.com

    Like

    • Ooo I’ll definitely have to try that! Thanks for the advice :)
      Definitely get yourself a VS fragrance, they’re so nice and last ages! I always struggle to chose which one I want but I love the two I have! x

      Like

  2. I’ve heard so much good stuff about La Roche Posay- I’m going to try that clarifying lotion- thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Yes I fell La Roche Posay lover, they really have some amazing products in their line! True Blood is my all time favorite show, *Eric – swoon*, it’s just so good! I’ve been holding off on watching the newest season just because I want to binge watch it over one weekend, but It’s so sad and terrible that its ending!
    XOXO
    Veronica

    Like

    • Any recommendations on which of their products I should try next? Ahhh Eric is sooo hot! I prefer Alcide though! I’m watching it week by week but I can already tell I’m going to rewatch it in a binge session! It’s definitely a great series to end on so far xxxx

      Like

      • I really like their micellar water, and if you have any spots, their effeclar duo is really amazing! Oh Alcide, I forgot about him, he is really gorgeous! Have you read the books the series was based on?

        Like

      • I recently got a bottle of the Garnier micellar water but I’m having major break out issues atm so might have to invest in the effaclar duo!
        Yeah I have! I only started watching the series a few years ago because I was still reading the books! The tv series has diverged so far from the storyline of the books x

        Like

      • I know, it’s kind of unfortunate but I still love both series!

        Like

      • Same! Although I’ve forgotten how the books ended, but I don’t want to remind myself until I’ve finished the TV show now! Haha x

        Like

      • Oh you read all the way through? I remember not being very satisfied by the last three books or so, and the ending was . . . ok – I don’t think it gave justice to the series, and when I read it, it almost seemed like Harris kinda gave up or got burned out by the series. But that was just my impression!
        I was really bummed we never got to see Sookie with Quinn, because their relationship was really interesting!

        Like

      • Yeah I did! I only started watching the series when I went to uni because a friend had the boxsets and I quickly became hooked! I liked when Jason became a werepanther, but they took that out the show which annoyed me and from then on the series just gave up following the books entirely and I’ve been so engrossed in the show, I’ve forgotten how the books go! I’d completely forgotten about Quinn until you just said! x

        Like

      • Well I totally forgot about Jason! Haha I also missed the part when Sookie and the Barry the Bellboy helped find survivors from the hotel after is was bombed, plus that whole book with Sookie and Eric.
        Oh and they completely cut out everything about Claudine and Claude and how he lived with her for a while, and Claudine was pregnant with twins, instead Eric just drained her on Sookie’s front lawn when he lost his memory – oh well I’ve come to just think of the two series as separates because they’ve become more and more distant from each other

        Like

      • Yeah I think that’s the best way to think of them, which is hard because it is almost entirely the same characters, but both are good in their own right. x

        Like

      • Definitely! So glad I found a fellow beauty blogger who also loves True Blood!

        Like

      • Haha what’s not to love?! :D x

        Like

  4. I really want the ‘Victoria’ perfume by Victorias Secret, but I’m also UK based and so I’m waiting to take another trip to the Bond Street store to get a bottle. It’s just so damn expensive over here! ):

    Like

    • Ooo I haven’t tried that one! The other one I have is Sexy Little Thing Noir, really musky :)
      They really should start selling them in one of the department stores or something here! X

      Like

      • Yess! Debenhams or House of Fraser need a VS beauty counter! ‘Victoria’ is quite sweet and fruity which is more the sort of scents I like. It’s got notes of berries and creme brûlée or something along those lines! Haha x

        Like

      • Ooo that sounds really nice! I like musky scents a lot, but when it’s so sunny out I’m more inclined to wear something a bit lighter x

        Like

      • Yeah I know what you mean. Especially with how nice this summer has been. (: my perfumes tend to switch up as we get to the colder months x

        Like

  5. Ohhh, La Roche Posay – too much love! Hehe, I know what you mean by waiting for offers though, pricey!!! x

    Like

    • Every time I go near Boots I check to see if they’ve put it on offer! The effaclar is the only product of theirs I’ve tried, I’d like to try more though :) x

      Like

  6. Pingback: E.L.F. Make Up Review | rachwat

Leave a Reply

