Graduation OOTD

Processed with Moldiv

On Thursday, I graduated from the University of South Wales with a 2:1 in BA (Hons) Graphic Communications at St David’s Hall, Cardiff. I had a really nice (but long) day and it still seems a bit surreal that university is now completely over. The day passed by in a bit of a blur and I didn’t get to spend as much time with any of my friends or family as I would’ve liked, but that always seems to be the way with big events like this.

Unfortunately, pretty much every photo I have from the day is on my Dad’s camera and he went on holiday after we had lunch on the day of the ceremony. All I have are photos off my phone, none of which properly show the detail of my dress (which I am completely in love with!) so I’ve included a couple of webcam photos I took afterwards. Please excuse the poor quality!

dress

I wore this stunning burned velvet dress from Black Milk Clothing (Burned Velvet Evil Cheerleader Dress 2.0 – approx. £66 plus import tax.) The darker parts of the fabric are black velvet and the lighter parts are a sheer material. The fabric is incredibly soft and the dress was really comfortable to wear, despite the heat of the hall. As it was a really sunny day and I was concerned about having my pants visible in all the photos my family would want to see, I wore a white longline Spaghetti Strap Top £5.99 from H&M underneath during the ceremony. In the evening, I went out with my friends for drinks and decided against the top underneath as it was too hot. I think the dress became more suited to being an evening outfit without the slip because of the sheer parts.

IMG_1348

With the dress, I wore these red peep toe wedges which I bought from TK Maxx last summer and a Chamilia bracelet that was a graduation gift from my parents. I really like the simple leather strap and small silver charm, as it makes the piece delicate and very wearable. The little scroll has the year 2014 engraved on it. I have linked the bracelet or charm directly, as I don’t want to look up how much it cost due to being a gift, so if you’re interested in getting one like it, you’ll have to search yourself!

IMG_1349IMG_1350

Writing this has made me realise how few photos I have from graduation, which is a huge shame as its a day I’ll never get to do again. Hopefully when my parents get back from holiday I’ll be able to find a few more. I hope you enjoyed the post despite my lack of pictures and I really can’t emphasise how beautiful the fabric of the dress was.

4 responses to “Graduation OOTD

  1. Thanks for following me. Congrats on your graduation. Hope you had a fantastic day 😃

    Like

  2. Your graduation robes are so pretty! Congrats :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

